first air rifle

im 13 and the bsa lightning xl shoots like a dream. it's light and not barrel heavy. it can tackle rabbits and tree rats. also you'll need a scope. i bought a SMK mil-dot air rifle scope 4x40. its good for me but you might need something more powerful. my whole kit costed £335. if you can afford somethiong over £400 then go for a good pcp.

pigeon plucker ;):good:

Hi Dawnraider,

PM sent - "INCOMMING!!" :laugh::laugh:

Having fired it on a few occasions before now, and trying my lad (9 years old) out with it for size and fit, I would recommend the Air Arms S200 as a good all rounder for the young shooter as well as the others mentioned by the members already. I reckon all of the afore-mentioned rifles are good, but i have had no personal experience of those particular rifles - only what i have read before in the shooting mags, and so can't comment on them from the personal point of view. I have however, had experience of handling and shooting the S200 on many occasions and so thought i'd let you know what i though on it, and chuck it into the mix for good measure. :thumbs:

Regards,

Grim.

Edited by Grim Reaper
im 13 and the bsa lightning xl shoots like a dream. it's light and not barrel heavy. it can tackle rabbits and tree rats. also you'll need a scope. i bought a SMK mil-dot air rifle scope 4x40. its good for me but you might need something more powerful. my whole kit costed £335. if you can afford somethiong over £400 then go for a good pcp.

pigeon plucker ;):good:

£335 a bit steep for a lightening springer aint it? . Just bought myself a new bsa ultra with 3-9-40 hawke zoom scope and bag for £350