Bass on fly - from the kayak

Just a few pictures of one of the other activities I get up to. Fly fishing for bass off the kayak, or wading or rock hopping. I now use the fly rod almost exclusively. I have fly fihsed for bass for over 20 years, but I used to use plugs and livebaits too, now I would rather just use the fly rod. Same for pike.

Getting rigged up, not quite as early as I had wanted. Too much hospitality the night before!

IMG_0002-1.jpg

It was flat calm, not exactly the best conditions for bass fishing, I prefer a bit of wave. But I found this reef break, so I targetted it. I had to sit the kayak right on the building wave to be able to fish the breaking water.

IMG_0028.jpg

The fly that did the trick. A home tied baitfish pattern on a 2/0 hook and about 5" long.

IMG_0021.jpg

About the 3rd cast th eline went tight and I started playing the first fish.

IMG_0040.jpg

It turned out to be not bad at all. Not a big fish, but a nice one to catch. About 5lbs 12ozs.

IMG_0052.jpg

IMG_0030.jpg

IMG_0011-1.jpg

IMG_0044.jpg

I got six of the same stamp in an hour and a half before breakfast! Best was exactly 6lbs, the smallest was 4lbs 8ozs.

All returned, of course.

IMG_0034.jpg

• Like 2

Brilliant...i love my fly fishing but have never tried to target any sea fish. Must give it a go sometime....one of the fellas i know fishes off Morecambe Bay, wades out and fishes in the surf...he does catch a good few but wont let on exactly where...lol

atb

Brilliant post. :victory: .i bought a kayak last year but it is a white water type..i did plan on a bit of fishing in it but my mate who was going to get one changed his mind and i did not fancy going out to sea on my own..

What type of kayak is that one you are using and what is the price range as i fancy one of those sit on sea fishing type's for fishing and the other one just for messing about in..